GoCNCN.com -- Collegiate NationThe Student-Exclusive Superpower
GoCnCn.com

How to delete your Google search history before they start sharing it with advertisers

March 3, 2012

The following is an excerpt from a blog post on ACLU. We are also providing the direct link so our readers can get full report on how best to change your privacy settings on Google to protect your privacy.

Source:
http://www.aclu.org/blog/technology-and-liberty/googles-new-privacy-se…

Excerpt:

If you're wondering why you should be concerned about this, consider this: have you ever Googled something you didn't want to tell your parents/spouse/friends/do ctor about? Had a conversation over e-mail that you didn't want broadcast to the world? As of tomorrow, your e-mail content and search terms could influence ads you see on any Google site. So, if you're watching a YouTube video with friends or family, you could potentially see an ad based on what you assumed was a private e-mail conversation or a personal Google search appear.

Thankfully, our friends at the Electronic Frontier Foundation, the Daily Mail, and others have put together a handy guide on how to clear your Web history before the change takes place and how to "pause" collection of your Web history to make all of your data anonymous.

As the Digital Journal reported last week:


1. Go to the Google homepage and sign into your account.

2. Click the dropdown menu next to your name in the upper-right hand corner of your screen.

3. Click accounts settings.

4. Find the "Services section."

5. Under "Services" there is a sub-section that reads "View, enable, disable web history." Click the link next to it that reads: "Go to Web History."

6. Click on "Remove all Web History."

When you click on "Remove all Web History," a message appears that says "Web History is Paused." What this means is that while Google will continue gathering and storing information about your web history it will make all data anonymous, that is, Google will not associate your Web History information with your online accounts and will therefore be unable to send you customized search results.

Google's ability to gather personalized information about you by assigning data to your Gmail and YouTube accounts will remain "Paused" till you click "Resume."
UmeNow

Please login or register to comment.